And so it begins…

In a review that couldn’t wait for the official pub date, The Washington Post calls Jim Shepard’s THE BOOK OF ARON a “masterpiece,” “essential Holocaust literature,” and says it “challenges each of us to greater courage.”  http://www.washingtonpost.com/entertainment/books/the-book-of-aron-by-jim-shepard-is-a-masterpiece/2015/04/28/0a159fe6-ea98-11e4-9a6a-c1ab95a0600b_story.html

 

This Just In…

Tobias Wolff joins Jim Shepard at Kepler’s in Menlo Park, CA on June 15.  The two best mustaches in the country in conversation.  Don’t miss it. http://www.keplers.com/event/jim-shepard-conversation-tobias-wolff  

Join Jim Shepard on tour in 2015

Odyssey Books — SOUTH HADLEY, MA
Reading with Robin McLean
Thursday, May 14

Harvard Bookstore — CAMBRIDGE, MA
Reading/Signing/Q+A
Friday, May 15

Newtonville Books — NEWTON, MA
In Conversation w/ Amy Hempel
Saturday, May 16

Peck’s Plate (with Greenlight Bookstore) — BROOKLYN, NY
Dinner with Jim Shepard
Sunday, May 17

Franklin Park Reading Series (with Electric Literature) — BROOKLYN, NY
Monday, May 18

Dallas Museum of Art — DALLAS,TX
Anthony Doerr and Jim Shepard: Compassion and Catastrophe
Tuesday, May 19

Brazos Bookstore — HOUSTON, TX
Reading/Signing/Q+A
Wednesday, May 20

Community Bookstore (with Brooklyn Public Library) — BROOKLYN, NY
In Conversation with Joshua Ferris
Thursday, May 21

3S Artspace (with RiverRun Bookstore) — PORTSMOUTH, NH
A Conversation with Jim Shepard
Friday, May 22

The Free Library of Philadelphia — PHILADELPHIA, PA
In Conversation with Daniel Torday
Thursday, May 28

Politics And Prose — WASHINGTON, DC
Reading/Q+A/Signing
Tuesday, June 2

Books & Books — MIAMI, FL
Reading/Q+A/Signing
Wednesday, June 3

McNally Jackson — NEW YORK, NY
In Conversation with Gary Fisketjon
Thursday, June 4

Bay Area Book Festival — SAN FRANCISCO, CA
In Conversation with Ron Hansen
Sunday, June 7

Vroman’s Bookstore — LOS ANGELES, CA
Reading/Q+A/Signing
Thursday, June 11

Powell’s Books — PORTLAND, OR
Reading/Q+A/Signing
Friday, June 12

Copperfield’s — SANTA ROSA, CA
Afternoon Literary Lunch
Saturday, June 13

The Booksmith — SAN FRANCISCO, CA
Reading/Q+A/Signing
Saturday, June 13

Book Passage — CORTE MADERA, CA
Reading/Q+A/Signing
Sunday, June 14

Kepler’s — MENLO PARK, CA
Reading/Q+A/Signing
Monday, June 15

Village Books — BELLINGHAM, WA
Reading/Q+A/Signing
Tuesday, June 16

Elliott Bay Book Company (with Seattle Public Library) — SEATTLE, WA
In Conversation with…
Wednesday, June 17

Boswell Book Company ( with the Sam and Helen Stahl Center for Jewish Studies)— MILWAUKEE, WI
Lunchtime Reading/Q+A/Signing
Reading/Q+A/Signing
Thursday, June 18

Open Books — CHICAGO, IL
Friday, June 19

Cuyahoga Public Library (with the Maltz Museum of Jewish Heritage and Mandel Jewish Community Center) — CLEVELAND, OHIO
Reading/Q+A/Signing
Tuesday, June 23

Lemuria Books — JACKSON, MS
Reading/Q+A/Signing
Wednesday, June 24

Square Books — OXFORD, MS
Reading/Q+A/Signing
Thursday, June 25

Parnassus Books — NASHVILLE, TN
In Conversation with Gary Fisketjon
Friday, June 26

Jim Shepard Book Tour Updates

The Jim Shepard Book Tour is a living, breathing, changing beast.  Current changes/updates:

May 16–In Conversation with Amy Hempel

http://www.newtonvillebooks.com/cms/2015/04/14/sat-may-16-7pm-jim-shepard-author-of-the-book-of-aron-in-conversation-with-amy-hempel-author-of-the-collected-stories-of-amy-hempel/

May 17–Book/Plate Series

http://www.greenlightbookstore.com/event/jim-shepard-offsite

May 21–In Conversation with Joshua Ferris

http://www.bklynlibrary.org/calendar/jim-shepard-joshua-ferris-central-library-dweck-cen-052115

You Have Been Warned: The Jim Shepard Book Tour

 

images

THE BOOK OF ARON hits the stores on May 12.  The book tour is a work in progress, but here are some dates to put in your calendars.  In pen.

May 14–The Odyssey, South Hadley, MA

May 15–Harvard Bookstore, Cambridge, MA

May 16–Newtonville Books, Newton, MA

May 17–Brooklyn Library, Brooklyn, NY

May 18–Franklin Park Reading Series, Brooklyn, NY

May 19–Dallas, TX

May 20–Brazos Bookstore, Houston, TX

May 21–Community Bookstore, New York, NY

May 25-26–Toronto, Canada

May 28–Philadelphia Free Library, Philadelphia, PA

June 2–Politics and Prose, Washington DC

June 3–Books and Books, Miami, FL

June 4–McNally Jackson, New York, NY

June 7–San Francisco, CA

June 11–Los Angeles, CA

June 12–Powell’s, Portland, OR

June 13-15–San Francisco, CA

June 17–Seattle, WA

June 18–Milwaukee, WI

June 23–Cleveland, OH

June 25–Oxford, MS

June 26–Nashville, TN

June 29-July 3–London, England

July 12-19–Tin House Writer’s Conference, Portland, OR

August 5–New York, NY (with the stunning and talented: Katherine Lee, Sandra Leong, and Bill O’Brien)

Okay, details to come, but consider yourself warned: Jim Shepard is hitting the road.

IMAG1617

 

 

 

  • RSS
  • Facebook
  • Twitter